My Desk is my Entertainment Center …and vice versa.

Desk in Ballard

My computer is my TV and my TV is my computer, which means my entertainment center must also pull double duty as my desk.

My Desk

The keyboard drawer is deep enough for two keyboards (the very clicky Matais Tactile Pro and the very quiet Apple Keyboard) and wide enough for the mousepad to rest on one side, and iPods/iPhones can rest on the other.

Keyboard Drawer (open)Keyboard Drawer (closed)

Currently to the immediate left of the “stand” is the “component shelf”. This houses my Mac (which had to be configured to output multi-channel sound), My 7.1 amp, my DVD player, my printer, and it used to hold my Roku Netflix Player (before I sold it).

reptel04reptel05

Even though I have a 7.1 amp, I only have 5.1 sound (the amp has a setting to down-sample 7.1 content to 5.1 speakers) right now. I feel no rush to buy another pair of speakers before I get a BluRay player to take advantage of them. I haven’t permanently hung the speakers, because I am planning on spinning the room 90 degrees. The left front speaker is in the corner, as is the subwoofer. The center speaker is directly behind the monitor. The front right is on top of a bookshelf.

reptel06reptel07reptel08

One rear speaker is on top of the filing cabinet, the other on top of the DVD Shelf.

reptel09reptel10
.

My Old Entertainment Center

Old TV

My last TV was so giant, only a giant entertainment center would house it. When we moved into a cabin in the woods for a year, it took almost a week for me to get all of it out there. (I had to carry it in a wheelbarrow)

When our year was up, we moved out – but left the TV and entertainment center there.
.

My Ever-changing Desk

My desk is made of industrial shelving.

Desk 1998

Originally built in 1998 as an editing workstation, it has been re-built again and again.

Desk Flat

It has been low and wide, it’s been flat, it’s been bottom heavy, and top heavy.

Desk 2006

The first attempt at turning into an entertainment center was a bit gigantic.

Desk 2008

But now it’s under control. (and broken into three pieces)

march-2009-desk
deskfinal

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

