Internet Television Test, Week 7: Getting Bored and Grumpy

This week was more of the same. The Netflix box served up Peggy Sue Got Married and more of Miami Vice Season 1.

We streamed an episode of The Simpsons and Miro gave us our USA Network shows (Burn Notice, In Plain Sight), ABC Family shows (The Secret Life of the American Teenager, The Middleman) and The Daily Show. We also watched the first four episodes of The O.C.: Season 1 on DVD.

I’m still using Miro/Front Row the same way I was last week. When I’m mid-production I don’t have time to kill researching if the fixes I want are possible and/or how to do it. I just have to wait until wrap. Grrr.

Problem with Front Row: Grouping. I am happy that Front Row allows you to navigate to your “Movies” folder. I understand that it didn’t always have that capability. Why does Front Row insist on grouping by kind, rather than by name? This results in the folders being put at the bottom and it reads as a list of titles that go from A to Z twice. Grrr.

One solution would be to get Miro to put titles directly in the “Movies” folder rather than into a sub-folder named after its channel, but if I knew how to do that, I’d get Miro to stop putting dashes in all the spaces. As it is, I have to see The-Daily-Show, The-Secret-Life-of-the-American-Teenager, Burn-Notice, and In-Plain-Sight. Grrr.

And I really need a remote control. I would dump the PowerMac for a Mac Mini for the remote alone if it had the video power and hard drive speed/capacity this Twin G5 has.

I read Wm. Humphrey’s column this week… and he mentions: The O.C.! OK, I have to watch whatever he recommends in this column… which turns out to be “Skins“, a BBC show. Add that to the list!

Speaking of the list, I’ll update it after wrap at the end of the month. Thanks for asking. Next time post to the comments. That’s why they’re there.

Until next week: Grumble…. grumble… GET OFF MY LAWN!!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

