Internet Television Test, Week 6: Re-Thinking My Approach

The summer doldrums continue. The slowdown has allowed me to learn how to get TV programming via internet with minimal impact to my viewing habits, and more importantly, my wife’s viewing habits.

I think I know how I’m going to handle the new season.

I think I’ll be streaming sitcoms (the bulk of what I watch) and downloading the one-hour dramas. The quality difference is worth the extra effort and patience, especially if there are a lot of dark and/or action sequences.

I do have to keep my downloads to a minimum. Even now, during rerun season, I have a long queue of torrents that haven’t even started downloading. We got The Secret Life of the American Teenager two days late. Oops. I can’t imagine what it would be like when regular programming returns if I tried to download every show on my list every week.

For what downloads I’ll continue, I haven’t decided if I’m going to keep using Miro or not. It has a few quirks that drive me batty. Besides, I can get similar functionality out of xTorrent or Bitrocket without all the bloat of a built in player that I don’t use and a file manager that I don’t need.

Similar, but not the same. If I can iron out the wrinkles in Miro, it could be the heart of the TiVo replacement I’m looking for – driving Front Row, which will be the “face” of the system.

As for streaming, I may have to just keep using Hulu by default. I heard about Plex this week. Unfortunately, like Joost and Boxee, it’s an Intel-only playground. Apparently, there aren’t any Platform Agnostic coders out there. What happened to Universal Binaries? My machine is barely three years old!

Only with Hulu can a PPC user get any love.

This week we watched new episodes of Secret Life, In Plain Sight, Burn Notice, and The Daily Show, and watched “reruns” of The Middleman, and Miami Vice Season 1. We watched Beaches and Across the Universe together, and I watched Superman: Doomsday alone.

Still haven’t caught up with The Riches, The Two Coreys, The Sarah Connor Chronicles, Mythbusters, or Dirty Jobs, but I did listen to five more episodes of Smodcast. I’m now up to episode #30.

I’m beginning to get nervous that I’m not going to be ready in time for Premiere Week…. whenever that is! I may need to buy TV Guide for the first time in 15 years.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

