Internet Television Test, Week 4: Getting Automated

This week, I finally discovered the usefulness of Miro.

I fully intended to review Joost, Miro, and Hulu’s RSS-based “subscriptions”, but I never got around to subscribing to anything on Hulu and Joost requires an Intel-based Mac, which mine is not.

Miro has taken hard drive space through two name changes and countless updates, but I never did more than fire it up once every couple of months… usually right after I ran AppUpdate.

I liked the concept, but I found the content lacking. I can get Ask A Ninja and StrongBad E-Mails through iTunes and I don’t care for the skimpy Discovery Channel podcasts in the Sample Channels. There is 2 minutes of content and 2 minutes of ads per “show”. That’s a terrible ratio.

But this week was different. This week I discovered tvRSS. (Link in the blogroll).

C|net has a great step-by-step tutorial on how to use tvRSS to make Miro useful. I discovered it about two hours after I finally figured it out for myself.

<Mr. Miyagi Mode ON>
Google first. Always Google first.
<Mr. Miyagi Mode OFF>

I added random things from my terribly named “What I’m Watching and How I’m Watching It” list, went to bed, and forgot about it.

The next evening when I sat down, there were two episodes of The Daily Show in Front Row. Shades of TiVo. It slipped my mind that I had told Miro to put the data files in my Movies folder. Scanning the rest of the list, I also found episode 4 of Secret Life of the American Teenager.

I added a few more random things to Miro and forgot all about Hulu.

Maybe next week while I check out Crafty TV I’ll browse Hulu.

We finished House M.D. Season 1. It was a great wrap-up and lots of juicy backstory came out along the way.

The Two Coreys and The Sarah Connor Chronicles sat unwatched, as did The Riches. I caught an episode of Mythbusters, and watched part of an episode of Dirty Jobs.

So far, replacing television with the internet has not cured the summer doldrums.

With No MTV, IMF, VH-1, or MTV2 to turn to, I hit YouTube.

Something Happy: Lemon Demon “Word Disassociation”

Something Melancholy: Chris Blake “Someone Else”

Something Uplifting: Sick Puppies – It’s All The Same

Something Sentimental: Journey “Faithfully” (Embedding is Disabled for this title.)

And I finally took a listen to Summer of Love 2008 from WHA!? Music.

01 Step Together // Phil RetroSpector (Happy Mondays VS the Beatles)
02 Pinball Wizard in the Drivers Seat // Apollo Zero (Dogtooth VS Who VS Cook’s County)
03 Black Acieed // dj lobsterdust (Ram Jam VS D-Mob)
04 What’s That Sound? // World Famous Audio Hacker (Buffalo Springfield VS 808 State VS Deee-Lite VS Prince VS Duran Duran)
05 Here Comes The Sunscreem // Bobby Martini (Sunscreem VS the Beatles)
06 Land Of Oz (Summer of Love Mix) // Flying White Dots (Manuel Gottsching VS Latino VS Grace Jones VS Pink Floyd VS The Orb VS Opus 3 VS Bjork VS Masters At Work VS The KLF)
07 diamond pressure // Simon Iddol (Richard Wahnfreid feat. Klaus Shultze, Manuel Gottsching, Mike Shrieve and Karl Wahnfried VS Little Louie Vega with Jay ‘Sinister’ Sealee and Julie McKnight)

Grab your free legal copy @ WhaStudios.com. It will help get through August.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

